Main Office: (479) 443-4401 CU*TALK: 833-206-9032

The Credit Union philosophy

We offer our members a non-profit, democratic, member-controlled ownership structure while stockholders, not customers, control banks. Credit Unions are the only democratically controlled financial institutions in the United States.

Discover the Cooperative Difference

Have you ever wondered about the difference between credit unions and banks?  Do you live or work in Washington County? Come discover the difference for yourself!  Northwest Arkansas Federal Credit Union has been growing to serve Northwest Arkansas for over 80 years as a democratic financial cooperative.  What does that mean for you, though? It simply means that we are a not-for-profit financial institution, unlike banks, so any profits we make are returned directly to our members in the form of higher interest yields on savings accounts and lower interest rates on loans.  Another benefit of credit union membership is having the opportunity to have your voice heard. NWA FCU is governed by a volunteer board of directors, comprised entirely of credit union members and elected directly by credit union members. Our philosophy is, “not for profit, not for charity, but for service.”

The real credit union difference is our focus on serving you.




Our Field of Membership

Anyone who lives, works, worships, attends school, owns a business or volunteers in Washington County.


1935 Veterans Administration Facility Federal Credit Union chartered (charter #195)
1957 Name changed to VA Federal Credit Union
1994 Built facility on the VA Medical Center campus
1995 Name changed Northwest Arkansas Federal Credit Union
2000 Arkansas Western Employee’s Credit Union merged
2002 Razorback Federal Credit Union and New Horizons Federal Credit Union merged
2004 Community charter obtained

Let's Get Started

Skip to content